Early Bird:

First pilot-in-command to arrive at Galesburg Municipal Airport for the 2016 Fly-In who remained for the duration:

Brian Rosenstein arrived August 28, 2019 at 7 p.m. from Stanley, NC in Stearman N1535M

Longest Cross-Country:

Awarded to the pilot whose direct route from his or her home airport to Galesburg was the longest in a Stearman:

Edward “Ted” Miller flew 1,717 sm from Santa Rosa, CA in Stearman N9923H

Youngest Pilot:

Awarded to the youngest pilot who, acting as pilot-in-command, landed a Stearman upon its arrival for the 2016 Fly-In:

Ben Thomas, 18 years old, born August 20, 2001, Hernando, MS, Stearman N52014

Most Vintage Pilot:

Awarded to the oldest person who, acting as pilot-in-command, landed a Stearman upon its arrival for the 2016 Fly-In:

Harrel Timmons, September 23, 1938, 80 years old, Galesburg, IL, Stearman N75546

Short-Field Takeoff (Stock Engines):

Shortest distance from start of take-off roll until airborne:

First: N266N, Brett Anderson, 380 ft
Second: Tie: N42DB, Daniel Wolford and N266N, Blake Anderson, 420 ft
Third: N52287, Brian Vallero, 445 ft

Short-Field Takeoff (275 - 300 hp engines):

Shortest distance from start of take-off roll until airborne:

First: N1203M, Rob Tekampe, 440 ft   
Second: N58219, George Madok, 480 ft  
Third: N64602, Mike Sager, 500 ft

Short-Field Takeoff (450 hp engines):

Shortest distance from start of take-off roll until airborne:

First: N54896, Matt Wolford, 270 ft 
Second: N349KF, Paul Fries, 340 ft 
Third: N52014, Julie Thomas, 385 ft

Rescue Drop:

For the flour bomb dropped closest to the center of the target:

First: N52287, Brian Vallero , pilot and bombardier, 11.6 ft   
Second: N266N, Blake Anderson, pilot and bombardier, 25.1 ft   
Third: N60657, Cal Tax, pilot and Stephanie Teel, bombardier, 27.3 ft

Precision Landing Contest:

For landing closest to a designated line:

First: N266N, Brett Anderson, 5 ft   
Second: N58219, James Madok, 75 ft   
Third: N266N, Blake Anderson, 110 ft  

Aerobatic Competition:

First: N57762, Blake Anderson   
Second: N58219, George Madok   
Third: N56914, John Hodgson

Formation Competition - 4 ship:

First: Scorpions: N60657, Cal Tax; N64W, Rick Lutes; N63301, Chuck Marshall; N59457, Vic Syracuse

Second: Scalleywags: N42DB, Daniel Wolford; N401DB, Eric Delawder; N1203M, Rob Tekampe; N347KF, Paul Fries

Poker Run:

First: N60657, Cal Tax, 5 card flush   
Second: N401DB, Eric Delawder, 3 kings   
Third: N57950, Marie Spear, 3 queens

Newest Restoration:

Presented to the owner of the Stearman whose restoration was completed closest to the date of the presentation of this award:

N58219, first flight August 9, 2018, George Madok, Evergreen, CO (7 ½ year restoration by owner)

Hard Luck Award:

Stearman C-GSDK, Bruce Bond, Sarnia, ON, Canada

Stearman Most in Need of Restoration:

N33NA, Roger Brown, Port Saint Lucie, FL and N46Y, Quentin Marty, Hightstown, NJ.

Kaydet Award:

For excellence in restoration of Army Stearmans:

N57762, Todd Anderson, Bloomington, MN

Yellow Peril Award:

For excellence in restoration of Navy Stearmans:

N54899, N2S-3, Carl Wilson, Brookline, NH

Best Civilian:

For excellence in restoration of civilian Stearmans:

Not awarded this year

Best Custom:

In recognition of creativity and workmanship on custom Stearmans:

N146CM, Jim Martin, Spring Grove, IL

Best Military Custom:

In recognition of creativity and workmanship on military custom Stearmans:

N58219, George Madok, Evergreen, CO

Made It Happen Award:

In memory of Don Grundstrom, presented by Ric and Lisa Woldow
What Stearman burned the most fuel during the 2019 National Stearman Fly-In:

Stock category: N57762, Todd Anderson, 179.2 gal.
450 hp category: N69249, Dan and Diane Sokolowski, 254.1 gal.

A total of 6,089 gallons of fuel were burned during this year’s fly-in.

Fuel quantity was calculated from Monday, Sept. 2, through 3 p.m. on Saturday, Sept. 7.

Lloyd Stearman Award

Presented to a Stearman documented to be of significant importance in the Stearman Aircraft Company’s history, or one that has been restored to replicate or preserve the historic accuracy of a civilian or military Stearman:

Stearman N54896, owned by the Wolford Family, documented to have been flown during World War II by George H.W. Bush, 41st President of the United States.

Bill Adams Memorial Foundation Award

In recognition of sustained effort that contributed measurably to the continued success of the National Stearman Fly-In and greater Stearman community:

Presented to Pete and Marie Spear and Tye Hammerle, for their time & effort & support of the NSFI which included refurbishing & repainting the Stearman headquarters building & adjacent hangar, participation in a recent Stearman forum at Oshkosh & other special NSFI projects.

Special Recognition Award

Special commemoration of Marilyn Stearman Carr, daughter of aircraft designer Lloyd Carlton Stearman, to her family in recognition of her many years of participation in & support of the National Stearman Fly-In.

Stay Connected:

Telephone: 309-343-6409

The National Stearman Fly-In office at Galesburg Municipal Airport is manned in daylight hours during Fly-In week. Leave a message on the answering machine at other times.

U.S. Postal Service:
National Stearman Fly-In NFP Inc.
P.O. Box 1937
Galesburg, IL 61402-1937

National Stearman Fly-In NFP Inc.
307 Lloyd Stearman Dr.
Galesburg, IL 61401

E-mail us:

7 + 6 =

National Stearman Fly-In


Board of Directors
Phillip Wolford - President
Jeanne Conlon - Vice President
Jean Jacobs - Secretary
Ben McMahan - Treasurer
Thomas E. Lowe - Director
Robert F. Harrison - Director
Mike Lowe - Director
Mike Rutledge - Director
Harrel W. Timmons - Director
Logan Fifer - Director
Brian Rosenstein - Director
Lisa Woldow - Director
Brian Vallero - Director