Early Bird:

First pilot-in-command to arrive at Galesburg Municipal Airport for the 2016 Fly-In who remained for the duration:

Jim Ratliff, Conyers, GA, arrived August 30, 2017, in Stearman N1370V

Longest Cross-Country:

Awarded to the pilot whose direct route from his or her home airport to Galesburg was the longest in a Stearman:

Ted Miller flew 1,718 sm from Santa Rosa, CA in Stearman N9923H

Youngest Pilot:

Awarded to the youngest pilot who, acting as pilot-in-command, landed a Stearman upon its arrival for the 2016 Fly-In:

Marshall Thomas, 17 years old, Hernando, MS, Stearman N52014

Most Vintage Pilot:

Awarded to the oldest person who, acting as pilot-in-command, landed a Stearman upon its arrival for the 2016 Fly-In:

Peter Gill, 89 years old, Enid, OK, Stearman N4935N

Short-Field Takeoff (Stock Engines):

Shortest distance from start of take-off roll until airborne:

First: N939W, Alan Wright, 315 ft
Second: N429AB, Matthew Sawhill, 425 ft
Third: N33NA, Roger Brown, 440 ft

Short-Field Takeoff (275 - 300 hp engines):

Shortest distance from start of take-off roll until airborne:

First: N311HR, Ben Redman, 360 ft
Second: Tie: N64602, Mike Sager, and N57490, Mike Rutledge, 520 ft

Short-Field Takeoff (450 hp engines):

Shortest distance from start of take-off roll until airborne:

First: N146CM, Jim Martin, 245 ft
Second: N806RB, Brian Aukes, 260 ft
Third: N450HP, Scott Martin, 315 ft

Rescue Drop:

For the flour bomb dropped closest to the center of the target:

First: N60657, T.J. Fuller, pilot and bombardier, 6 ft, 6 in
Second: N60657, Cal Tax, pilot, and Stephanie Teal, bombardier, 13 ft, 6 in
Third: N62917, Aaron Marshall, pilot, and Skylar Marshall, bombardier, 16 ft, 6 in

Precision Landing Contest:

For landing closest to a designated line:

First: N52014, Julie Thomas, 135 ft
Second: N349DC, Claude Sonday, 175 ft
Third: N60657, T.J. Fuller, 286 ft

Aerobatic Competition:

First: N57762, Todd Anderson
Second: N529AB, Matthew Sawhill
Third: N57762, Blake Anderson.

Formation Competition - 4 ship:

First: Deviators: N802RB, Chad Pobanz; N222FK, Dan Sokolowski; N806RB, Brian Aukes; N429AB, Matthew Sawhill

Second: Mercats: N63301, Chuck Marshall; N64W, Rick Lutes; N57490, Mike Rutledge; N68800, Carter Teeters

Third: Mustang Flight: N52574, John Rettick; N65693, David Burroughs; N95DA, Carey Hardin; N56878, John Ockenfels

Poker Run:

First: N57950, Marie Spear, Full House, 3 queens, pair of 6s
Second: N52293, Chad Pobanz, Full House, three 9s, two Jacks
Third: N63301, Chuck Marshall, 2 pair, Aces and 6s

Newest Restoration:

Presented to the owner of the Stearman whose restoration was completed closest to the date of the presentation of this award:

First flight October 1, 2016, N311HR, Ben Redman, Faribault, MN. Stearman owned by Randy McCoy, Winnemucca, NV.

Hard Luck Award:

N1370V, Jim Ratliff

Stearman Most in Need of Restoration:

N46Y, Quentin Marty, Hightstown, NJ

Kaydet Award:

For excellence in restoration of Army Stearmans:

N713WW, James “Sandy” Wilson, Chicago, IL.

Yellow Peril Award:

For excellence in restoration of Navy Stearmans:

N1203M, Rob Tekampe, McHenry, IL

Best Civilian:

For excellence in restoration of civilian Stearmans:

NC663K, Stearman Model 4E, Ben Scott, Reno, NV

Best Custom:

In recognition of creativity and workmanship on custom Stearmans:

N5573N, Bob Knoll, Burlington, IA

Best Military Custom:

In recognition of creativity and workmanship on military custom Stearmans:

N4497N, Jeff Jordan, Richmond, IN

Made It Happen Award:

In memory of Don Grundstrom, presented by Ric and Lisa Woldow
What Stearman burned the most fuel during the 2017 National Stearman Fly-In:

200 h.p. category: Stearman N57762, 214.4 gallons, Todd, Sue, Blake & Brett Anderson
300 h.p. category: Stearman N64602, 102.4 gallons, Nick Sager
450 h.p. category: Stearman N349DC, 231 gallons, Claude Sonday
Runner-up: Stearman N146CM, 227.7 gallons, Jim Martin

A total of 7,796.53 gallons of fuel were burned during this year’s fly-in.

Lloyd Stearman Award

Presented to a Stearman documented to be of significant importance in the Stearman Aircraft Company’s history, or one that has been restored to replicate or preserve the historic accuracy of a civilian or military Stearman:

NC663K, Stearman Model 4E, Ben Scott, Reno, NV.

This airplane had been converted to a sprayer and served in that role for many years. When it was restored back to its original condition, Lloyd Stearman was still alive. He visited with it several times during the restoration and had direct input into the accuracy of the restoration as it was being put back together. It has been recovered once since that time, but Lloyd’s hands have been all over that airplane since it left the factory in 1930. Because of the direct tie to Lloyd Stearman, we would like to present this award to NC663K and Ben Scott.

Bill Adams Memorial Foundation Award

In recognition of sustained effort that contributed measurably to the continued success of the National Stearman Fly-In and greater Stearman community:

Mr. Rich Vanatta and the members of Amvet Post 008 in recognition of their many years of volunteer service to the National Stearman Fly-In.



Stay Connected:

Telephone: 309-343-6409

The National Stearman Fly-In office at Galesburg Municipal Airport is manned in daylight hours during Fly-In week. Leave a message on the answering machine at other times.

U.S. Postal Service:
National Stearman Fly-In NFP Inc.
P.O. Box 1937
Galesburg, IL 61402-1937

National Stearman Fly-In NFP Inc.
307 Lloyd Stearman Dr.
Galesburg, IL 61401

E-mail us:

9 + 14 =

National Stearman Fly-In


Board of Directors
Phillip Wolford - President
Donivan Godsil - Vice President
Jean Jacobs - Secretary
Ben McMahan - Treasurer
Thomas E. Lowe - Director
Robert F. Harrison - Director
Mike Lowe - Director
Mike Rutledge - Director
Harrel W. Timmons - Director
Jeanne Conlon - Director
Logan Fifer - Director
Brian Rosenstein - Director
Lisa Woldow - Director
Brian Vallero - Director